Not Exactly Yasso 800

Posted on April 28, 2010

0


Woke up early today for a quick workout. Had a quick cuppa of milo and Kellogg’s bar for energy.

The weather was cooling yet sunny. The ideal spring morning. Did a longer warm-up run, about 1km, as I wanted to really warm up the Achilles tendon and calves.

Found a quiet spot away from cyclists rushing to work along the riverside pavement, I settled in and did 4 x 600 with recovery runs back to the start point.

I was quite surprise about the consistency of my pacing. I did a 2.44, 2.45, 2.44 and 2.47. Of course, I was certainly running at a much faster pace than my marathon pace. Each recovery run over the same distance was about 4.00.

Totally enjoyed the run for 3 reasons. One, I did what I planned to do and did not over-do it – that’s discipline. Two, I felt the run will strengthen my cadiovascular. And lastly, I felt fresher going to work today.

Other than a pair of tight calves and inflammed left bursa, it was a good run!

