Right Knee and ITB

Posted on March 29, 2010

0


I did a bit of speedwork last sunday and still felt the fatigue from Friday’s 20 mile run. I called it a day pretty early. But what’s worse was the pain in my right knee which arise during the long runs. It got worse I didn’t take care of it.

Thinking that a 2-day rest will do the trick, I did a 41/2-mile run on Wednesday evening and end up aggravating the pain. I must have caused some inflammation to the ITB on the outside of the knee.

I tried ice and medicated tape but still it was painful. I was barely 10 minutes into today’s run when the ITB started hurting again. I tried to take some pressure of the right leg but it was just as painful.

With less than 2 weeks to the Taunton Marathon, I guess my best bet would be to rest, increase frequency but lower the intensity and time. Not the ideal situation to be in but better than not being able to run the marathon at all.

24/3: 4.5 miles, 38:56 (two silver slope)
29/3: 4.5 miles, 33:55 (river flat)

