Running Log – 2.4km TT

Posted on February 8, 2010

0


Did the 2.4km Time Trial as planned. It was a cold, cold sunday morning and I still see people running. Nothing seems to stop the locals from a good workout. Well, the weather forecast points to a colder weather in the coming days and maybe snow, so we shall see.

The TT didn’t start off well. Somehow, I started too fast and I was choking from the cold air in my lungs. I could feel the lack of oxygen intake causing my legs to tire out after just 2 mins… It was disastrous. I had expected myself to complete the run, in good time, without much problem. I jogged back to the startline, and kicked off at a much slower pace. Still, I was panting like hell after the first km.

Into the 2nd km, I could feel the lactic acid buildup as my stride rate fell through the sky. I knew the timing wouldn’t be a good one. The thought of giving up floated in and out of my mind as I struggled to keep up the pace and head for the finishing line. Crossing the finishing line, my stopwatch read 10:46.9. How disappointing! With all the runs, I was expecting at least a sub-10:30. Then again, most of my runs were done in above 5:30 min/km pace.

Looks like there are a huge room for improvement. I have definitely got to do more tempo runs at faster pace and hill runs. And that was precisely what I did thereafter. I run 4 x 450m at 1:59, 1:54, 1:49 and 1:52. More training = Better timing? I hope I got the maths right.

Distance ran: 2.6 miles

Posted in: Running Log, Training