Rocket Science Running Or Get It Free

Posted on January 14, 2010

0


Rocket Science

I bought my pair of Nike LunarGlide+ back in Singapore a week before the marathon. My interest started with the LunarRacer because of its lightweight (slightly over 150 grams) and material of its upper. But (I thought) durability was a concern and decided to go with the LunarGlide+ instead.

Comfy Upper

Due to my back pain, I had tried it only once for 3 km run. My first thoughts were that the shoe was too bouncy and “foamy” or “plush”. I didn’t really like that feeling. I was too used to hard-hitting feedback, those that you can almost feel the tarmac kind of feeling. But I didn’t have another pair to run in and no (more) money. At 20% discount, I was still paying rocket science price tag for the LunarGlide+.

During the marathon, I felt a little uneasy at the beginning. Afterall, I hadn’t “break them in” before. My concern was quickly put aside as I  entered the 10 km mark. Into the 3rd leg, my calves were hurting and my feet were begging for more support. But lack of training could have been the reason for that instead!

26.2 miles later, my feet were a little sore around the mid-foot area. Could that be due to the highly marketed flywire technology? Perhaps not. I was ready for that because I knew the shoes were a little tight at that spot for my feet. Again, my advice is not to go against the experts’ advice.

More rubber than LunarRacer

The Nike LunarGlide has served me well. With about 50 miles in them now, the concern about too much bounce and cushioning has faded away. The dynamic support also seems to work (or maybe it’s self-fulfilling prophecy? Time will tell ;)) I got it at a discount, so no complains on that.

Recently, I’m getting more excited about shoes that may help adjust my running gait and promoting more towards fore/mid-foot running. An affordable option, also from Nike, is definitely the Nike Free 5.0 V4.

Gime one!

And the (very brief) sales pitch from Nike goes like this…

“Updates to this version of the Free 5.0 make it even better for runners who want to reap the benefits of barefoot training. A new tongue design reduces pressure over the top of the foot while adding support by wrapping up around the medial arch. And soft, microfiber synthetic overlays are bonded wherever possible to minimize stitching and maximize comfort. Overlays balance the fit, durability and support of a shoe with the dynamic flexibility of the foot. Molded sockliner mimics the natural curve of the foot for a great fit, comfort and support. Soft foam inserts under the forefoot and heel for added cushioning. Phylite midsole for durability, a resilient ride and reduced overall weight. Deep Nike Free sipes for enhanced flexibility and stability. Wider sipes across the forefoot for muscle activation and a more barefoot-like experience. Strategic placement of multiple types of rubber and Waffle traction pattern for durability, proprioceptive feedback and a smooth, sure-footed stride from heel-strike to toe-off. Weight: 8.2 ounces”

Give me one (Free)!

Posted in: Running Gears