Why Run A Marathon

Posted on December 16, 2009

0


Marathon: Long-distance running race of 42.195 kilometers (26 miles, 385 yards).

It’s hard. It’s painful. Why do it? After scouring the online world of running, I found some answers.

Life Balance

“To lose weight, of course!”

“When you’re training for a marathon, not only do you get a better sense of balance between life and work, but it’s also relaxing to get in touch with the elements and nature.”

Sense of Achievement

“At first you think ‘I’m never doing this again’. And then just a few minutes after, when the incredible sense of satisfaction and pride sets in, you’re already planning the next challenge.”

“The drive of the marathon is – to the uninitiated – a mysterious force, and yet to others the desire to challenge oneself with a 42.195 km run is the most natural thing in the world.”

“Running a marathon is a difficult personal goal that ordinary people can achieve.”

No Pain, No Gain

“When I train for a marathon, everyone at the beach will be admiring how toned and muscular my legs are.”

“I’ll have some great souvenirs from the race, a medal that I can display at home, and a shirt that I can wear that tells the world I ran a marathon!”

For Charity

“Having been successfully treated for testicular cancer two years ago it seemed like an excellent opportunity to raise money to help others less fortunate.”

Found yours?

Posted in: Random Thoughts